Posted in Inbox / Outbox

Inbox/Outbox : My Week in Reading

I had another busy week, and then I had a cold, and well, I am so lazy when I have a cold. I didn’t do a whole lot of writing, but I did keep reading. Here are the books I am currently reading (Inbox)  and the books I just finished (Outbox). And thanks to Book Riot for giving me the idea for this column.

Currently Reading (Inbox)

See you in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng 

see you in the cosmosHonestly, when I first started reading this, I found the voice of the 11-year old narrator a bit precious and I almost abandoned the book. I persisted, however, and MC Alex grew on me. The story follows Alex as he and his dog, Carl Sagan, travel to a rocket launching festival. Inspired by his hero Sagan, Alex has been using his ipod to record and capture information about life on earth  to send to other life forms through his rocket. More than a few surprises and changes of plan occur as Alex forges a makeshift family for himself wherever he goes. I have a few quibbles, mostly surrounding the intended audience, but overall, I am enjoying it. More later.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tabir 

ember in the ashesI have been waiting for this audiobook from the library for months! It is finally here, and I can’t wait to start listening. I have heard from several sources that the audio, in particular, is really well done.One devoted audiobook listener even referred to it as her “favorite audiobook ever. ” I will keep you posted! I’m starting this on my work commute tomorrow.

 

 

Books Finished (Outbox)

My Diary from the Edge of the World by Jodi Lynn Anderson.

my diary from the edge of the worldGracie Lockwood lives in the world we know, except for one thing. And warning: it’s a big thing: Mythical creatures like dragons, mermaids, ghosts, and sasquatches exist. Dragons are migratory creatures that fly south every year, disrupting the life of everyone on Earth to the point where vast underground tunnels and travel systems have been built so that people can function when the dragons are moving. This is just one of the fascinating and fun to read details provided by Jodi Lynn Anderson. In this alternate world, black clouds come for people when they die. When a black cloud shows up on Gracie’s street, and it becomes apparent that it’s headed their way, Gracie’s family decides to run. But can anyone really outrun a  black cloud?

I really loved this book. The plot is ambitious and not without its problems, but it was so fun to read and emotionally resonant. I highly recommend it.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

big little liesYes, I know. Everyone and their mother has read this book. I was one of the last to pick it up! My opinion? So much fun. The story centers around a group of mums in a small, idyllic beach community in Australia and the tension caused when one kid accuses another of strangling her on the first day of school.

Liane Moriarty has a real gift for effortless, juicy prose and well drawn characters. I completely understand her appeal. Definitely worth reading!

What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan

What she KnewI don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I keep choosing mystery/thriller titles that seem to center around missing children. This is the third missing kid book I have read in a year. Single mum Rachel lets her son run ahead of her a bit on their regular walk in the woods and he disappears. We get her perspective as well as a detective’s who is assigned to the case.

I listened to this one on audio and, though I hate the sensationalistic title, I thought it was very well done. Two different readers (both English) read the two main perspectives in the story and it moved along very quickly. I even spent a few hours ignoring my family this weekend so I could finish it!

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George
Tuesdays at the CastleI was first drawn to this book because of the beautiful, appealing cover. In paperback, it is one of those smooth, glossy covers that I find irresistible. (I know: Nerd Alert!)  I assumed it was a great pick for the K-2 set, but was delighted to find that it was actually much more complicated. Princess Celie lives in an enchanted castle with a mind of its own: every Tuesday, it grows new rooms or a new staircase, sometimes even a new wing. When Celie and her siblings suddenly find themselves threatened by usurpers, Celie must use her extensive knowledge of the castle to save everyone. Lots of fun and a great choice for young fans of palace intrigue and smart, strong female heroines.

That’s me. What about you? What are you reading?

Author:

Children's librarian, reader of all the books.

Leave a comment