Posted in Uncategorized

In which I Vow to Return, Again.

If there’s anything I’ve learned from trying to make a (part time) living as a freelance writer, it’s that finding the time to do everything you need to do feels next to impossible. Freelance writers are always always working and looking for projects and emailing and researching and editing. Very often, the paycheck you hope for is not the paycheck you get! And when you throw another professional job and a family in the mix, it gets even more challenging!

I’ve been bobbling back and forth about what to do with this blog and, without boring you too much with my reasons pro and con, I’ll tell you what I decided:  Let’s Do This.  I want to keep writing and I want to keep sharing the books I love. I also want to write more about the work I do as a librarian: What I’ve learned, what I still struggle with, what I still hope to learn. So I’ve expanded and added some new pages to the site. Library Dose now has a section about the work of a children’s librarian. Specifically, I will write about Baby Storytime and Middle School Book Club. And, as always, I will continue to highlight books I love for children and adults.

I can’t promise that I will faithfully write a post every week. There may be huge gaps, due to my other writing and family commitments, as well as the time I’d like to put aside for creative writing pursuits.  But I really want to keep this up. I have gained so much from reading other librarian’s blogs about stoytime, and I hope to give that back a little bit.

As always, I will keep writing about books, with five minute book prescriptions and lists, and thoughts on the power of reading and sharing literature in our current political climate.

Chin up everybody. I know the world feels like the beginning of a dystopian book series right now, but we have to moving forward. Remember the wise words of the late, great Carrie Fisher :

take-your-broken-heart

Author:

Children's librarian, reader of all the books.

Leave a Reply

